Current Executive


President: Megan Kennedy
Vice-President: Alison Foster
Past President: Jody Nelson
Treasurer: Nicole Loroff
Student Rep (2nd year): Lakshmi Balaraman
Student Rep (1st year): Natalia Yatsyuk

Executive Member Bios

Megan Kennedy (President)   

Megan is a public services librarian at the University of Alberta. Her primary liaison areas are the Faculty of Nursing and the Department of Geriatrics within the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry. Prior to starting at the Scott Health Sciences Library in January 2020, Megan worked as a liaison librarian for various health faculties at the University of Saskatchewan. Prior to joining NAHLA in early 2020, Megan was President of the Saskatchewan Health Libraries Association. She is a graduate of the UBC School of Information, earning her MLIS in 2016.

Alison Foster (Vice-President/President Elect)

Bio coming soon!

Jody Nelson (Past President)

Jody Nelson is a nursing librarian at MacEwan University, with primary liaison responsibility for the Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program and the Centre for Professional Nursing Education. Prior to her current role she was the Instructional Design Librarian at MacEwan, and the liaison librarian for the Psychiatric Nursing, Social Work, and Child and Youth Care programs. Jody earned her MLIS from the University of Alberta’s School of Library and Information Studies, has an MA in English Literature from Carleton University, and has been a member of NAHLA since 2016.

Nicole Loroff (Treasurer)

Nicole Loroff is currently a Librarian with Alberta Health Services located at the Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital. In this role, she works with all types of health care professionals and researchers to support evidence-informed practice. Previously, she was an Academic Library Resident with the University of Alberta Library focusing on student engagement and outreach. She is also a graduate of the School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Alberta (2015). This is Nicole’s first time serving on the NAHLA executive, and she is looking forward to engaging with and learning from the community.

Lakshmi Balaraman (Student Representative)

Lakshmi is a first year MLIS (online) student at UAlberta. She aspires to be a health sciences librarian. A fun fact about Lakshmi is that she is multilingual!

Natalia Yatsyuk (Student Representative)

Natalia Yatsyuk is a first-year student in the Library and Information Technology Program at MacEwan University. She has a desire to be a library assistant as well as showing interest to be volunteer in academic library. This is first time Natalia assisting NAHLA as a student representative in 2021.